## JOHN KNOX PRESBYTERY PRESBYTERY MEETING POLICIES

- 1. Presbytery Council shall approve annually the locations for stated meetings of Presbytery in the coming year. Presbytery shall hold its meetings only in churches or other meeting places which are completely barrier-free.
- 2. Meetings normally shall begin no earlier than 9:30 a.m. and be scheduled to adjourn no later than 3:30 p.m.
- 3. Each stated meeting of the presbytery will ordinarily have the following four components:
  - A. Worship
  - B. Consideration and action upon reports and recommendations of its members, committees, councils, and task forces.
  - C. Equipment of the Saints education
  - D. Encouragement of presbytery-wide acquaintance, and fellowship.
- 4. The roll of attendance at each Presbytery meeting will be compiled by the Stated Clerk and printed in the minutes. Ministers, elder members, and churches who notify the Stated Clerk that they will be absent, and those ministers not in attendance who are either honorably retired or residing outside the bounds of the Presbytery will be listed as "absent with notice". All others not in attendance will be listed as "absent".
- 5. The Committee on Ministry shall be responsible for the arrangements for the recognition of the retirement of minister members of Presbytery. This will include a recognition service at a Presbytery meeting and the presentation of a plaque.
- 6. If brief meetings of committees of Presbytery must be held in connection with presbytery meetings, they should be scheduled before or after the presbytery meeting, or during the lunch recess, and not during the business sessions of presbytery. (JKP minutes, 5/10/77)
- 7. Presbytery meeting papers, including the call for the meeting, a proposed agenda for the meeting, minutes of any previous meetings which have not yet been approved (for a stated meeting), committee reports, and other pertinent papers, shall be distributed in advance of the meeting by mail or electronic means to all minister members, elder members of Presbytery, registered commissioners representing sessions, clerks of session, and others as necessary.